Regaining my Confidence

There is no doubt that my confidence in my abilities has decreased.  I still feel that my subject and thesis are important, but I have doubted my ability to actually complete the thesis to a reasonable standard.  I am aware that this is a stage that many PhD students progress through, but this is the first time that I have ever doubted myself to such a degree.

I sit down to write, I can visualise the page in front of me, I can see what I want to write, I start to write and it all becomes foggy.  The words slip away from me and I lose the structure, the flow and my voice.

I have tried to combat this by planning, lots of planning, but it just becomes apparent that I feel very confident about certain sections of my literature, even some sub sections, but some critical parts I have no confidence in my ability to discuss the issues.  When I write a plan in order to help with this some sections are strong, read well and I feel are up to the standard required.  The rest is blurred, I plan how to write them and re plan, change the structure, change the order, copy and paste.  Nothing feels right and it all becomes nonsense.

I am aware that is all in my head.  I am indecisive, I need to make a decision and stick with it.  I need to be confident in my abilities, my work and my opinions in order to make this work.

I am currently at the BSA conference in Birmingham.  Tomorrow I will be giving a presentation on some work I have collaborating on.  I will be discussing methodology, Web scraping and graphical representations of data.  I am very excited to be doing this, there is nothing I like more than discussing my work and my findings.  Furthermore, the presentation tomorrow will go some way to rebuilding my confidence.

 

Leave a Reply

