Reading for Pleasure – a Journey

Reading has always been one of my greatest pleasures.  I can remember the moment I learnt to read, how the story progressed from word to word and over the page to the end.  I used to get lost in different worlds, different situations and become different people.  I was lucky to grow up with adults who also loved reading and encouraged me by lending books and making recommendations.  I read quickly, devouring words, pages and books like my days are numbered.  I read quickly at the beginning of a book, desperate to get the heart of the story, to that point where I can’t put a book down, then I slow down, eager to make the story last.  I can read two books a day if I put my mind to it.  I have a friend who would buy me books regularly, he would always buy the biggest, thickest book he could to see how long it would last me.  If it went more than two days he considered it a successful purchase.

I lost the ability to read novels when I was studying for my undergrad.  Reading, although still enjoyable, was more to do with understanding theory and concepts.  I felt guilty if I read a novel, as I felt I should be spending more time reading something academic.

Then I lost the ability to write, and even think.   I also lost the ability to follow programmes on Radio 4.  I could watch television, programmes that I did not have to watch from the beginning.  I could watch Law and Order from halfway through and it didn’t matter, I was still able to follow the plot.  In the last couple of weeks television has lost its appeal to me, I am bored by it, so I picked up my Kindle and I began to read.  I read a novel, then another.

I also began writing today.  Not much, but it is a start.  I wrote three pages, it took me a while but I am quite pleased with it.  I started by writing bullet points, then sentences and now I have ended up with a number of paragraphs.  I have a plan for the next few weeks and I feel good about this.  I will take my time, I can’t rush this and cause my brain to shut down again.

Anyway, I have to go, I have a book I want to finish.

 

Leave a Reply

